Two Year Acting Program at Maggie Flanigan Studio – Caleb Lane Interview

{“@context”:”http:\/\/schema.org”,”@type”:”VideoObject”,”name”:”Two Year Acting Program at Maggie Flanigan Studio – Caleb Lane Interview”,”description”:”https:\/\/www.youtube.com\/watch?v=A_mDLnlfLLM – Two Year Acting Program – Professional Meisner Training Program Maggie Flanigan Studio – Call 917-789-1599\n

In this video Caleb Lane talks about training at the studio in the two year program after working professionally for more than 15 years. The Two Year Acting Program at the Maggie Flanigan Studio is a professional training program based on the the Meisner Technique, the life work of Sanford Meisner.\n

What would you say to someone that has been working in industry for a while and wanted to take their career to the next level? This might be someone who never really committed to a professional training program and now they feel stuck.\n

A little over a year ago. I was on that narrow path that I enjoyed. I was working; I could book a job. I’ve been on a lot of auditions. I know the industry. I know how to go in and sell myself and that to me, that’s where I was coming from.\n

There’s a great Al Pacino quote on auditioning. He said he would go in and he gets the script and prepares. Obviously, he has a great process takes it in the room and does what he does and that’s how Al Pacino does it.\n

If you want it, pay for it. If you don’t, he’s going to go to the next thing, and that to me was so inspiring because I don’t think I’ve ever done that. Some days I would have confidence, some days I wouldn’t. It’s just it’s such a gamble when you work it like that.\n

I got to a place where even though I’d had training, a little bit, I’d had some Adler. I’d had some method. I’d had some Meisner. I knew everything about the overview of acting and the techniques involved. Even some of the more obscure stuff, but it didn’t translate into work. You’ve got to work out every day if you want muscles.\n

You need training; you have to because things are going to be thrown at you onset that you’re going to have to figure out. Charm isn’t going to work very long; I know that. If you’re okay making money, you’ve got your part, and you just say your lines, then fine. That’s cool. Do your thing, but if you care about being a great artist or having any impact in the industry beyond another pretty face, then you’re going to have to train. You’re going to have to put your time in.\n

I see acting as no different. You can charm your way into a role or whatever. If you got it now, it’s all about you got a big Instagram following, and some producer out there is going to give you some money to get some eyeballs or make a little money himself. Whatever, but there’s not just going to be any value in it. If you think that this is easy or that you don’t need training or if think you can just jump on stage or on set with a real actor or a great actor who can take notes and then incorporate them immediately. When the camera’s on, “Action,” that’s not the time to figure it out.\n

I think a lot of people have that idea of acting that, “I’ll just learn it on set. I’ll learn as I go. I’ll learn it on the job.”The only place you can do that now is the presidency, but I don’t recommend it. I think if you want to be an artist and be respected by your peers, which is ultimately what I’m after, you got to train.\n

How does the Maggie Flanigan Studio compare to other places that you studied?\n

I’ve been in the industry for a while, 15 years and I’ve been on both coasts. I’ve worked on sets and been to a lot of big schools. Maggie Flanigan studio, it’s for me not only it’s the standard because the standard is second to none, but it’s the passion about every aspect of acting.\n

To get more information about the acting studio and the two year acting program, contact the studio directly by calling 917-789-1599.\n

Maggie Flanigan Studio
\n153 W 27th St #803
\nNew York, New York 10001
\n+1 917-789-1599\n

Home\n

\nhttps:\/\/goo.gl\/maps\/oxqqExybwL32
\nhttps:\/\/plus.google.com\/100897218937179347163″,”thumbnailUrl”:””,”uploadDate”:”2017-06-03T20:54:23.000Z”,”duration”:”PT13M3S”,”embedUrl”:”https:\/\/youtube.googleapis.com\/v\/nrxXZNUnuoY”}

This video, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nrxXZNUnuoY, can also be seen at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KGbpEsLredM&list=PL1840F48B25411AA2.

Leave a Reply

